Welcome to the unofficial Foo Fighters Discussion Forums!

Join in discussions with other Foo fans around the world.
Please Sign In or Register to get involved.

Times Like These - Biden Inauguration

FooZealandFooZealand 123 posts
edited January 20 in General Foo Discussion

'Celebrating America' Inauguration Special

Not getting into politics at all here - but Foos will play Times Like These in a few hours.

Tom Hanks will host. It's 90 minutes. Cant find an exact schedule.

Local start times... you should be able to work out any others from this list:

2.30pm NZ

12.30pm Sydney

1.30pm AM

8.30pm EST

5.30pm PST


Pick your platform - Amazon Prime will also have it.

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=C-qYgs_yOXA

https://www.facebook.com/BidenInaugural/

https://twitter.com/BidenInaugural

https://www.twitch.tv/inauguration2021


They talked to NPR about the song choice a few hours ago:

https://www.npr.org/2021/01/20/958689640/foo-fighters-are-among-musicians-participating-in-inaugural-festivities

Apparently they have a fuller interview airing in a few weeks.

------------------------------------------

STEVE INSKEEP, HOST:

It's going to be an uncommon Inauguration Day. That much we know for sure. One tradition they are keeping, though, is there will be entertainment.

NOEL KING, HOST:

Bruce Springsteen, John Legend, Demi Lovato and these fellas...

(SOUNDBITE OF FOO FIGHTERS SONG, "TIMES LIKE THESE")

KING: ...Foo Fighters.

INSKEEP: They were asked to play one song, and frontman Dave Grohl chose the one that you're hearing now, which is called "Times Like These." In a recent interview, he told us that song has taken on new meaning in recent years.

DAVE GROHL: That song was written at a time where I was kind of at a crossroads. And in that, I decided to choose hope and rebirth. The song was written, gosh, 17, 18 years ago or something like that. But it definitely applies to what everyone's feeling right now. You know, when you say it's times like these you learn to live again, it represents some new beginning. And I think a lot of people feel like that's what we need right now.

KING: Foo Fighters will be part of a televised event later today called "Celebrating America." And Rachel's full interview with Dave Grohl airs here in a few weeks.

(SOUNDBITE OF SONG, "TIMES LIKE THESE")

FOO FIGHTERS: (Singing) It's times like these you learn to live again.

Comments

Sign In or Register to comment.